Republic of Cyprus Emblem
Embassy of the Republic of Cyprus in Copenhagen

Entry Visas

VISA REQUIREMENT (who needs a visa to enter Cyprus?) [see footnote 1]

Anyone looking to enter Cyprus requires an Entry Visa issued in advance UNLESS they fall in one of the following categories:

1. Nationals of EU member States, on the basis of a valid national passport or ID document (bearing photo).

2. Third country nationals (non EU) holding a valid residence permit from any other EU member State (excluding the UK and Ireland)or from Switzerland, Iceland, Norway and Lichtenstein [see Footnote 2].

3. Third country nationals holding a valid and activated Schengen Visa, covering the duration of their intended stay in Cyprus [see footnote III]

4. Nationals of the following countries, provided the validity of their passport exceeds the duration of their intended stay in Cyprus by at least three months:

Albania (only holders of biometric passports), Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Bosnia and Herzegovina (only holders of biometric passports), Brazil, British nationals (overseas), Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (holders of biometric passports.), Guatemala, Holy See, Honduras, Hong Kong (holders of a “Hong Kong Special Administrative Region” passport), Israel, Japan, Macao (holders of a “RegiaoAdministrativa Especial de Macau” passport), Malaysia, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Montenegro (holders of biometric passport), New Zealand, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Salvador, San Marino, Serbia (holders of biometric passports), Seychelles, Singapore, South Korea, St. Kitts and Nevis, United States of America, Uruguay, Venezuela.

5. Holders of diplomatic, official or service passports from a number of countries (you may contact the Embassy to check for a particular country).

6. Flight crew members in possession of a Flightcrew Member’s License or a Crew Member Certificate issued under the Chicago Convention.

The list above is not exhaustive, so if you are unsure please contact the Embassy. Anyone falling in at least one of the categories listed above may travel to Cyprus and stay for up to 90 days without requiring a visa.


STEP 1: If you are planning to visit Cyprus and do not fall in one or more of the categories above (or you are in doubt as to whether you do), you should contact the Embassy either by phone or by email. Our staff will be able to confirm whether or not you need a visa and, if necessary, give you an appointment to visit the Embassy in person in order to submit the application.

STEP 2: Prior to your appointment, you should preferably print out the application form for an Entry Visa (from the ‘Forms’ section of the menu) and fill it in. If you are invited to visit Cyprus as a guest, your host should do the same with the form entitled ‘Assumption of Responsibility to Host’. When you visit the Embassy you should ideally bring one or both, accordingly, of these forms duly completed to you, together with any supporting documentation our staff will have indicated in your earlier communication.

STEP 3: You then visit the Embassy at the date and time arranged and submit your application.

STEP 4: In most cases your application will be processed within a few hours and your visa will be issued on the same day. On some occasions however, 3-4 working days will be needed for the processing to be completed. It is therefore advisable to be prepared and plan ahead so that your application is submitted in good time, at least one week before the intended date of travel.Please note that the processing of applications by Turkish citizens may take up to 20 working days, so it is advisable to apply in good time.


Airport transit Visa112 DKK
Short-stay Visa (single entry – valid up to 90 days)150 DKK
Multiple entry Visa (valid up to 5 years)450 DKK



I This information applies to the areas of the island of Cyprus which are under the effective control of the Government of the Republic of Cyprus. Travelers entering Cyprus territory via any airport or port in the Turkish- occupied areas in the north, which are considered illegal/closed under International Law, will be in breach of national legislation of the Republic of Cyprus. You are therefore strongly advised to ensure that you will be travelling via the recognized airports and ports of entry. The lawful points of entry to Cyprus are the airports of Larnaca and Paphos and the ports of Larnaca, Limassol, Latsi and Paphos, which are all situated in the area under the effective control of the Government of the Republic of Cyprus.

II Does not apply to Turkish nationals.

III Does not apply to Turkish nationals

Study in Cyprus

Invest in Cyprus


Cyprus Fact Sheet

Nemitsas Prize 2016

Crossroads of civilizations