Republic of Cyprus
Embassy of the Republic of Cyprus in Copenhagen

Mission and Brief history

The Embassy was established in August 2000, at the height of Cyprus’s accession negotiations with the European Union, in a push by the then Government to expand the country’s network of diplomatic missions, with emphasis on capitals of existing EU member States.

Following Cyprus’s accession to the Union in May 2004, the Embassy’s primary mission is to continuously upgrade and broaden bilateral relations with the two countries of its accreditation, Denmark and Iceland, to keep their respective Governments abreast as regards efforts to resolve the Cyprus question and to provide consular services and support to the public in general and, in particular, to Cypriot expats and visitors who find themselves in the area.

In the early days of its life the Embassy was functioning out of a suite in the centrally located Clarion Hotel Neptun, until adequate office space was found. From October 2001 up until June 2013, the Chancery was based in an office on Borgergade and from July 2013 onwards the Embassy is located in its current office in the heart of the city, at H.C. Andersens Boulevard 38.

The following Cypriot diplomats have in the past been in charge of the Embassy:

14.9.2000 – 21.1.2002 Andreas Skarparis, Ambassador
21.2.2002 – 17.11.2003Michalis Stavrinos, Ambassador
15.12.2003 – 8.8.2004Yannis Iacovou, Chargé d’ Affaires a.i.
9.8.2004 – 20.12.2008 Antonis Toumazis, Ambassador
19.1.2009 – 10.2.2013 George Kasoulides, Ambassador
11.02.2013 - 31.07.2014Demetris Samuel,Chargé d’ Affaires a.i.
01.08.2014 - 31.07.2018Maria Papakyriakou, Ambassador
01.08.2018 - 31.07.2021 Penelope Erotokritou, Ambassador
01.08.2021 - Iacovos Giragosian, Ambassador

No documents found

CY Flight Pass

Application for Visa

Visit Cyprus

Coronavirus 2019

Study in Cyprus

Invest in Cyprus

Crossroads of civilizations

13th International Short Film Festival of Cyprus 7/10/2023 - 13/10/2023