Republic of Cyprus

Contiguous Zone

According to Article 33 of the 1982 United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea and the Contiguous Zone Law (Law Νo. 63(Ι)/2004), the Republic of Cyprus established a contiguous zone, the internal limit of which matches the outer limit of the territorial sea, whilst its outer limit extends up to 24 nautical miles from the baselines. The contiguous zone of Cyprus constitutes a maritime zone of 12 nautical miles, which coincides with part of the exclusive economic zone, without affecting the latter’s regime.

Notwithstanding the legislation which applies in this maritime area as part of the exclusive economic zone, the Republic of Cyprus has additional rights of control in relation to certain activities. In particular, in the contiguous zone, the Republic of Cyprus has the right to exercise control necessary to:

(a) prevent infringement of its customs, fiscal, immigration or sanitary laws and regulations within its territory or territorial sea;

(b) punish infringement of the above laws and regulations committed within its territory or territorial sea, and

(c) control traffic of archaeological and historical objects found in this zone. In relation to objects of archaeological and historical character, the Law, further, provides that their removal from the seabed of this zone without the approval of the Republic of Cyprus (i.e. the Director of the Antiquities Department, in accordance with the Antiquities Law, Cap. 31 to 2014), constitutes an infringement of its laws and regulations, in accordance with article 303§2 of the 1982 Convention.

Last Modified at: 04/10/2016 02:51:00 PM

No documents found