Republic of Cyprus

Travel Information for Cypriot Nationals

General Advice to Cypriot Travelers - European Health Insurance Card (EHIC)

The EHIC gives the Cypriot traveler the right to have any necessary medical treatment during his/her stay in an EU/EEA Member State EU Member States: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, France, Finland, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom. European Economic Area Member States (EEA): Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland.. Holders of the EHIC and/or their family members are entitled to all medical/pharmaceutical treatment services if they fall ill during their visit to another EU/EEA Member State.

In case of urgent need for medical treatment, including hospitalization of the applicant and or his/her family members during their stay in an EU/EEA Member State, the EHIC must be submitted to the public medical institution (or to a private hospital contracted to the health care system of the country) in order to receive the necessary medical treatment. The Cypriot national might be asked to present extra documents (identity card or passport).

Applications for EHIC issuance are submitted, with all supporting documents, to any Citizen Service Center or to any District Post Office (Nicosia, Limassol, Larnaka and Pafos) at least 10 working days preceding departure.

For more information concerning health issues in the country of the traveler’s destination (vaccination and/or other particulars) he/she may consult the official website of the Ministry of Health ( and/or the World Health Organization (

Last Modified at: 05/09/2016 10:32:00 AM