PrintPrint Close Close

Republic of Cyprus

Cyprus is an independent sovereign Republic with a presidential system of government. Under the 1960 Constitution, executive power is exercised by the President (Head of State and Government), elected by universal suffrage for a five-year term of office, through a Council of Ministers appointed by him. The office of the Vice-President, to be held by a Turkish Cypriot as provided by the Constitution, remains vacant because of the refusal of the Turkish Cypriot leadership to participate in the government of the Republic of Cyprus. For the same reason, the ministries and public service positions allocated to Turkish Cypriots are, out of necessity, held now by Greek Cypriots.

The composition of the Council of Ministers is the following:

President: Mr Nikos Christodoulides
Minister of Foreign Affairs: Mr Constantinos Kombos
Minister of Finance: Mr Makis Keravnos
Minister of Interior: Mr Konstantinos Ioannou
Minister of Defence: Mr Michalis Giorgallas
Minister of Education, Sport and Youth: Mrs Athina Michaelidou
Minister of Transport, Communications and Works: Mr Alexis Vafeades
Minister of Energy, Commerce and Industry: Mr Giorgos Papanastasiou
Minister of Agriculture, Rural Development and Environment: Mr Petros Xenophontos
Minister of Labour and Social Insurance: Mr Yiannis Panayiotou
Minister of Justice and Public Order: Mrs Anna Koukkides-Prokopiou
Minister of Health: Mrs Popi Kanari
Under Secretary to the President: Mrs Irene Piki
Deputy Minister of Shipping: Mrs Marina Hadjimanolis
Deputy Minister of Tourism: Mr Kostas Koumis
Deputy Minister of Research, Innovation and Digital Policy: Mr Philippos Hadjizacharias
Deputy Minister of Social Welfare: Mrs Marilena Evangelou
Deputy Minister of Culture: Mrs Vasiliki Kassianidou
Government Spokesperson: Mr. Konstantinos Letymbiotis
Deputy Government Spokesperson: Mrs Doxa Komodromou
Secretary/Council of Ministers: Mrs Penelope Papavassiliou

More information on the presidency and the government ministries is provided on the websites below:

Ministry of Foreign Affairs:
Ministry of
Ministry of Interior:
Ministry of
Ministry of Education, Sport and
Ministry of Transport, Communications and Works:
Ministry of Energy, Commerce and
Ministry of Agriculture, Rural Development and Environment:
Ministry of Labour and Social Insurance:
Ministry of Justice and Public
Ministry of Health:


Legislative authority is exercised by the House of Representatives. Its members are elected for a five-year term. At the time of its establishment the House consisted of 50 members, 35 of whom were to be Greek Cypriots and 15 Turkish Cypriots. Through a constitutional amendment in 1985, the number of seats was increased to 80 - 56 allocated to Greek Cypriot members and 24 reserved for Turkish Cypriot deputies.

On 10 June 2021 Mrs Annita Demetriou was elected President of the House of Representatives. She was first elected to the House of Representatives in 2016 representing the Larnaca District. She is also the President of the Democratic Rally (DISY) since 11 March 2023 and the first woman and youngest person to hold either Office.

For more information please refer to: House of Representatives:


The administration of justice is exercised by the island's separate and independent judiciary. Under the 1960 Constitution and other legislation in force, the following judicial institutions have been established:
The Supreme Court of the Republic, The Assize Courts and District Courts.

The Judicial system has since July 2023 undergone significant changes with the introduction of three new courts, namely, a Supreme Constitutional Court, a Court of Appeal and a 'new' Supreme Court. Previously, the Supreme Court comprised 13 justices; this body has now been split into the Supreme Constitutional Court (nine judges) and the 'new' Supreme Court of Cyprus (seven justices). The increase in the number of judges from 13 to 16 aims to spread functions and responsibilities that were once under one judicial body. The new Supreme Court justices will primarily deal with civil and criminal matters while their colleagues at the Supreme Constitutional Court will focus on constitutional and administrative matters. This division of labour underscores the priority of enhancing specialization within the judicial system.

For more information please refer to:

Independent Officers and Bodies

There are also a number of independent officers and bodies including those of the Attorney-General, the Auditor-General and the Governor of the Central Bank of Cyprus.

For further information and updates please refer to:

Press and Information Office:

© 2015 - 2024 Republic of Cyprus,
Ministry of Foreign Affairs,
Embassy of the Republic of Cyprus to the Hague