Cyprus is the third largest island in the Mediterranean Sea. Its 9,251 square kilometers (3,572 square miles) encompass citrus and olive groves, pine forested mountains, and some of Europe's cleanest beaches. Also the easternmost island in the Mediterranean Sea, Cyprus is approximately 105 kilometers (60 miles) west of Syria, 75 kilometers (47 miles) south of Turkey and 380 kilometers (200 miles) north of Egypt. The nearest Greek point is the Greek island of Rhodes, which is 380 kilometers (200miles) to the west. The island has a mild, typically Mediterranean climate, with abundant sunshine even in winter and little rainfall. Prominent geographic features include the Trodos massif that occupies most of the southwestern part of the country, the Pentadaktylos range in the north around Kyrenia and the Messaoria Plain in between them. It is here that the capital city, Lefkosia, is located.

The elongated Karpasia Peninsula occupies the northeastern part of Cyprus, while the southeastern point terminates in Cape Greco. The southern coast is where the major towns of Larnaka and Lemesos are located. Pafos and the Akamas Peninsula are on the far western edge.

The latitude of Cyprus is 34° 33'-35° 34' North, and its longitude 32° 16'-34° 37' East.

More information are found on the homepage of the Republic of Cyprus:

Please click here to print this document.