PrintPrint Close Close

Republic of Cyprus

Cyprus is an independent sovereign Republic with a presidential system of government. Under the 1960 Constitution, executive power is exercised by the President (Head of State and Government), elected by universal suffrage for a five-year term of office, through a Council of Ministers appointed by him. The office of the Vice-President, to be held by a Turkish Cypriot as provided by the Constitution, remains vacant because of the refusal of the Turkish Cypriot leadership to participate in the government of the Republic of Cyprus. For the same reason, the ministries and public service positions allocated to Turkish Cypriots are, out of necessity, held now by Greek Cypriots.

The composition of the Council of Ministers is the following:

President: Mr Nicos Anastasiades
Minister of Foreign Affairs: Mr Ioannis Kasoulides
Minister of Finance: Mr Charis Georgiades
Minister of Interior: Mr Socrates Hasikos
Minister of Defence: Mr Christoforos Fokaidis
Minister of Education and Culture: Mr Costas Kadis
Minister of Communications and Works: Mr Marios Dimitriades
Minister of Commerce, Industry and Tourism: Mr Georgios Lakkotrypis
Minister of Agriculture, Natural Resources and Environment: Mr Nicos Kouyialis
Minister of Labour and Social Insurance: Ms Georgia Emilianidou
Minister of Justice and Public Order: Mr Ionas Nicolaou
Minister of Health: Mr Philippos Patsalis
Deputy Minister to the President: Mr Constantinos Petrides
Goverment Spokesman: Mr Nicos Christodoulides
Deputy Minister to the President: Mr Constantinos Petrides

© 2014 - 2020 Republic of Cyprus,
Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Consulate of the Republic of Cyprus in Krasnodar