PrintPrint Close Close

Republic of Cyprus
Consular Protection for European Union Citizens

    In countries where Cyprus does not have a Diplomatic or Consular representation, any citizen of EU Member-State may request European consular assistance by applying for help to an Embassy or Consulate (not an Honorary Consulate) of another EU Member-State.

    To be eligible for such assistance the applicant must be a national of a EU Member-State, be in severe distress abroad, in a country which is not part of the EU, and there must be no accessible Embassy or Consulate. The consular assistance provided is limited only to genuine emergencies e.g. death, accidents involving serious injury or serious illness, arrest or detention, repatriation on medical grounds, or the need of the issuance of a temporary travel document (lost or stolen passport ).

    More information is provided in the website of the European Commission – DG Justice.

No documents found

© 2012 - 2024 Republic of Cyprus,
Ministry of Foreign Affairs,
High Commission of the Republic of Cyprus in Pretoria